查看我们的全新Alpha账户。
0点起原始点差。

了解CFD交易的一般成本,
以及它们如何影响您的交易回报。
升级至Alpha账户

新闻与分析

从FXTRADING.com了解最新的市场趋势。
美国通胀上升

美国通胀上升

根据9月份的CPI报告,美国的通胀数据再次上升。这进一步加大了美联储收紧政策的压力。

通货膨胀持续加剧

对美国来说,高通胀并不是什么新鲜事。然而,它再次上升又为美联储的立场敲响了一颗钉子,即使它只是“暂时的”(暂时的)。今年6月和7月,通胀率年环比达到5.4%,又回到了13年来的最高水平,8月短暂回落至5.3%。我们认为,公平地说,通胀比一些美联储成员愿意承认的要棘手得多。9月份该指数也上涨了0.4%,这是3年来首次月度上涨,尽管能源价格上涨是整体数据背后的一大推动力。然而,核心CPI(将食品和能源从数据集中剔除)9月份也上涨了0.2%,并保持在年环比4%的水平——这突出表明,通胀的力量不仅仅是能源价格上涨,尤其是在美联储的目标是平均通胀率仅为2%的情况下。

美联储倾向于提前加息

联邦公开市场委员会(FOMC)昨日公布的会议纪要显示,各成员“普遍”认为,只要“经济复苏总体上仍在正轨上”,在“明年年中前后”完成逐步缩减是合适的。如果经济数据允许他们在下次会议前采取行动,紧缩计划可能在11月或12月开始。然而,对于下一次加息,他们仍存在分歧。“各种参与者”预计未来几年利率将保持在下限附近,而“一些参与者”则提出了到2021年底前加息的可能性。

考虑到通货膨胀的状况,市场已开始消化明年加息的价格。根据芝加哥商品交易所联邦观察(CME FedWatch)的数据,市场预期到2022年9月加息的可能性为42.3%,高于一周前的37.6%和一个月前的25.1%。因此,虽然还没有超过50%来表明大多数,但预期正朝着这个方向发展——而通胀数据仍然是这种预期背后的关键驱动因素。然而,尽管市场预期美联储将提前加息且立场强硬,但美元隔夜仍走低,因为交易员们的预期一旦得到证实,就可能计入利润。今天晚些时候,美国将公布生产者价格,这也是政策制定者通胀监测工具的一部分。

滞胀中的市场价格

周二,国际货币基金组织(IMF)将全球经济增长预期从6%下调至5.9%。在国家层面,美国也被下调了1%至6%,加拿大下调了0.6%。总体而言,“发达经济体”的增长下降了0.4%。这些对全球GDP的下调预测惊吓了债券市场,并在过去两天推低了长期收益率,因为它们反映了滞胀(一种高通胀、高失业率和低增长相结合的经济情景)的前景。鉴于通胀正在走高,经济增长增率正在向下修正,我们只需要看到失业率上升至几乎确认滞胀的水平,并在全球市场逐步形成广泛的避险情绪。

Check through our brand new Alpha account.
Raw Spreads From 0 Pips.

Understand the common costs involved in CFD trading and
how they can affect your returns.
Try our Alpha account

News & Analysis

Discover the latest market trends at FXTRADING.com.
US Inflation on The Rise

US Inflation on The Rise

Inflation data in the US is on the rise again according to the September CPI report. And that piles further pressure on the Fed to tighten policy.

Inflation continues to run hot

High inflation for the US is not new news. Yet that it has risen again puts another nail in the coffin for the Fed’s stance that it is merely ‘transitory’ (temporary). At 5.4% YoY, inflation is back at a 13-year high after reaching that level in June and July before briefly dipping to 5.3% in August. And we think it is fair to say that inflation is a lot stickier than some Fed members would like to admit. It also rose 0.4% in September, which is its first monthly rise in 3, although higher energy prices are a big driving force behind the headline number. Yet core CPI (which removes food and energy from the data set) also rose in September by 0.2% and remained at 4% YoY- and this highlights that inflationary forces are more than just higher energy prices, especially since the Fed are targeting an average inflation rate of just 2%.

The Fed leans towards an earlier hike

The FOMC minutes released yesterday showed members “generally” agreed it would be appropriate to complete gradual tapering by “around the middle of next year” as long as “the economic recovery remained broadly on track”. And if economic data allows up to their next meeting, tapering could begin in November or December. Yet on their next interest rate hike they remain divided. “Various participants” expect rates to remain near the lower bound over the next couple of years, whilst “a number of participants” raised the possibility of a hike by the end of 2021.

The CME FedWatch Tool suggests a 42.3% probability of a hike in September 2202

Given the state of inflation, markets are beginning to price in a hike next year. According to the CME FedWatch tool, markets are pricing in a 42.3% probability of a hike by September 2022, up from 37.6% 1 week ago and 25.1% 1 month ago. So, whilst it is not yet above 50% to show a majority, expectations are trending towards doing just that – and inflation data remains a key driver behind such expectations. Yet despite expectations for an earlier hike and a hawkish Fed, the US dollar was lower overnight as traders presumably booked profits once their expectations were confirmed. Later today the US release producer prices which is also part of the inflation-monitoring-toolkit for policy makers.

Markets price in stagflation

On Tuesday the IMF (International Monetary Fund) revised lower their global growth forecasts to 5.9% from 6%. At the country level, the United States was also revised lower by 1% to 6%, Canada down by -0.6%. Overall, growth of ‘advanced economies’ was trimmed by -0.4%. And these trimmed forecasts for global GDP spooked bond markets and push long-term yields lower over the past two days as they price in the prospects of stagflation (an economic scenario which combined high inflation, high unemployment and low growth). Given that inflation is running higher and growth being downwardly revised, we just need to see unemployment rise to all but confirm stagflation and instil broad risk-off across global markets.