查看我们的全新Alpha账户。
0点起原始点差。

了解CFD交易的一般成本,
以及它们如何影响您的交易回报。
升级至Alpha账户

新闻与分析

从FXTRADING.com了解最新的市场趋势。
新西兰央行加息,还有更多后续吗?

新西兰央行加息,还有更多后续吗?

新西兰央行今天将利率从0.25%的历史低点提高到0.5%。这是一件大事,因为这是央行自2014年7月(7年多)以来首次加息,当时利率最高曾达到3.5%。有人担心,由于最新的covid -19病例上升,新西兰央行今天将不会加息。然而,在有报道称杰辛达•阿登(Jacinda Arden)总理放弃了“零案例”政策后,给这一前景泼了一盆冷水。

一切都与下一次加息有关

今天25个基点的加息是合理的,因为需要保持低通胀(通胀仍然很热),他们的任务是支持最大限度的稳定就业。但由于加息是经济学家和市场定价的预期,今天需要再次加息的线索才能推高新西兰元。然而,他们从未到达。

然而,委员会意识到,最新的COVID-19限制措施严重影响了奥克兰的一些企业和一系列更广泛的服务行业。

新西兰央行货币政策声明,2021年10月

政策声明对中期前景持乐观态度,但他们提到最新一轮COVID-19限制措施的严重影响,可能无异于在说,不会很快再次加息。尽管如此,市场仍在为11月会议上的第二次加息定价,但应该记住的是,形势是不稳定的。

尽管加息,新西兰元仍在下跌

新西兰兑所有主要货币走低,因交易员计入利润,形成了“谣言买入”(即将加息)、“事实卖出”(加息发生)的经典案例。尽管如此,0.5%的息差仍将继续支撑新西兰元,以压低澳元、欧元、美元和日元等收益率较高的货币,即使今天新西兰元兑这些货币的交易水平都有所下降。

尽管面临若干不利因素,美国市场仍反弹

有几股力量帮助美国股市从历史高位回落。截至周一低点,标准普尔500指数(US500)下跌了5.9%,而纳斯达克指数仍然表现不佳,下跌了8.9%。美国政府违约的可能性在于,他们无法(再次)提高债务上限,问题将在不到两周的时间内得到解决。然而,不断上涨的油价和全球能源危机也在打压市场情绪。持续的高通胀也有可能削弱增长前景,这通常对经济(以及前瞻性股市)不利。

因此,昨天华尔街的反弹令人惊喜,但这并不是说多头已经走出了困境。纳斯达克(USTEC)收盘上涨1.4%,但在8月份的低点14,733点遇到阻力。如果本周价格未能反弹(无论是在周五非农就业报告之前还是之后),那么看跌者可能会寻找从2021年3月低点上升的看涨趋势线的突破口。然而,如果该指数能能保持在趋势支撑之上,并在某个方向显示出强劲的购买力,则可能意味着该指数已完成从历史高位的三波回调。

尽管纳斯达克 100 指数没有任何计划,但收益季节现在正在进行中。然而,本周有5家公司将公布标准普尔500指数的收益。

•今天:Constellation Brands Inc (STZ) -第一季度收益

•今天:Steris Plc (STE) -第一季度收益

•明天:耐克公司(Nike Inc)——年度股东大会

•明天:Congra Brands Inc (CAG) -第一季度收益

•明天: Lamb Weston Holdings Inc (LW) -第一季度收益

Check through our brand new Alpha account.
Raw Spreads From 0 Pips.

Understand the common costs involved in CFD trading and
how they can affect your returns.
Try our Alpha account

News & Analysis

Discover the latest market trends at FXTRADING.com.
RBNZ Raise Rates, More to Follow?

RBNZ Raise Rates, More to Follow?

RBNZ raised their interest rate today from a record low of 0.25% to 0.5%. It is a big deal, as it is the first time the central bank has raised rates since July 2014 (just over 7 years) where rates topped out at 3.5%. There were concerns that RBNZ were to refrain from raising rates today due to the latest rise in COVIC-19 cases. Yet Prime Minister Jacinda Arden poured cold water on that prospect after it was reported she had thrown in the towel on her ‘zero cases’ policy.

It’s all about the next hike

Today’s +25bps hike was justified with the need to keep inflation low (which remains hot) and their mandate to support maximum stable employment. But as the hike was expected by economists and market pricing, clues of another hike were required to send the New Zealand dollar higher today. Yet they never arrived.

However, the Committee is aware that the latest COVID-19 restrictions have badly affected some businesses in Auckland and a range of service industries more broadly.

RBNZ monetary policy statement, October 2021

The policy statement was optimistic over the medium-term, yet their reference to how badly affected the latest round of COVID-19 restrictions are likely as good as saying another rate hike is not imminent. Still, markets are still pricing in a second hike at their November meeting but, it should be remembered, the situation is fluid.

NZD trades lower despite the rate hike

The New Zealand was lower against all major currencies as traders booked profits, making it a classic case of “buy the rumour” (rate hike coming), “sell the fact” (rate hike occurring). Still, at 0.5% interest rate differentials should remain supportive of the Kiwi dollar to lower yielding currencies such as AUD, EUR, USD, JPY, even if it is trading lower against them all today.

US markets rebound despite facing several headwinds

Several forces have helped pull US equity markets from their record highs. By Monday’s low, the S&P500 (US500) had fallen 5.9% whilst the Nasdaq underperformed still with an 8.9% decline. The potential for the US government to default is they cannot increase their debt ceiling (again) has less than two weeks to be resolved. Yet rising oil prices and a brewing energy crisis for the globe had also been weighing on sentiment. High and persistent inflation is also threatening to weaken growth prospects, which is typically bad for the economy (and therefore the forward-looking stock market).

So yesterday’s rebound on Wall Street came as a pleasant surprise, but that is not to say bulls are out of the woods. The Nasdaq (USTEC) rose 1.4% by the close yet found resistance at the August low of 14,733. Should prices fail to rally this week (either before or after Friday’s Nonfarm payroll report) then bears could look for a break of the bullish trendline rising from the March 2021 low. Yet if it can hold above trend support and print a strong buying candle somewhere along it, it could suggest its 3-wave correction from its al-time high is complete.

Earnings season is now underway, although there is nothing scheduled from the Nasdaq 100 index. However, this week there are 5 companies due to release earnings from the S&P 500.

  • Today: Constellation Brands Inc (STZ) – Earnings for Q1
  • Today: Steris Plc (STE) – Earnings for Q1
  • Tomorrow: Nike Inc (NKE) – Annual Shareholders meeting
  • Tomorrow: Congra Brands Inc (CAG) – Earnings for Q1
  • Tomorrow: Lamb Weston Holdings Inc (LW) – Earnings for Q1