查看我们的全新Alpha账户。
0点起原始点差。

了解CFD交易的一般成本,
以及它们如何影响您的交易回报。
升级至Alpha账户

新闻与分析

从FXTRADING.com了解最新的市场趋势。
新西兰第二季度经济增长强劲,澳大利亚就业形势混乱

新西兰第二季度经济增长强劲,澳大利亚就业形势混乱

澳大利亚的就业形势像一个曲线球

如果预期相关市场将出现定向波动,那么如果数据集倾向于支持或反对市场所代表的经济,那么这更有可能是一个干净的波动。然而,今天的就业报告经初步查看,几乎是一塌糊涂。

失业率从4.6%下降到4.5%,低于预期的4.9%。然而,有14.63万人失业(其中6800人是全职),参与率也有所下降。那么是什么原因呢?澳大利亚统计局在报告中解释说,由于新南威尔士州延长了封锁,就业和工作时间都有所下降。然而,几个州的就业率和失业率的下降对参与率造成了压力。

这种混乱可以从澳元上看出来,澳元盘中相对保持不变,在回到开盘前上涨了17点。AUD/NZD昨日突破里程碑水平,仍低于1.3000。然而,价格走势似乎延伸至下行。此外,由于澳大利亚和新西兰的数据表现不佳,该指数无法走低,这给熊市带来了危险信号(所以我们现在正在关注看涨的均值回归)。

新西兰第二季度增长迅猛

新西兰第二季度GDP数据强于预期,新西兰元今天大幅走高。年环比增长17.4%,目前处于历史高位,高于预期的16.4%,季度数据增长2.8%(从1.6%上升),表明这不仅仅是一个可以在年度数字中突然出现的基数效应。

在本月的大部分时间里,我们一直在关注1个月隔夜指数掉期(OIS)的上涨,因为他们在下次会议上加息的可能性越来越大。在今天的数据发布之前,加息的可能性上升到34%,2个月期加息25个基点的可能性为88%,3个月期已经完全反映了加息的可能性。我们可能会发现,鉴于今天强劲的增长数据,这种可能性有所增加。

然而,我们在这里需要谨慎,因为需要记住的是,第二季度的数据不包括封锁,这肯定会对第三季度的数据造成压力。但尽管如此,新西兰迅速封锁并部分重新开放了该国大部分地区,并控制了最近的疫情。由于封锁是新西兰央行在上次会议上不加息的唯一原因,我们将密切关注新西兰央行行长在未来几天的任何言论,以确定加息是否真的可能再次出现。

加拿大大选前通胀飙升

与大宗商品挂钩的经济体一样,加拿大隔夜发布了一份强劲的通胀报告,尽管并非所有人都对此感到满意。就在加拿大大选前几天,加拿大消费者价格创下18年来的新高,这为反对党提供了更多的弹药来反对现任总理贾斯廷·特鲁多(Justin Trudeau)。许多人对通胀普遍走高感到愤怒,房价上涨更是雪上加霜。

抛开政治因素不谈,整体CPI升至2003年3月以来的最高水平。然而,剔除了能源和食品因素后,该指数月环比仅上升0.3%,低于0.6%。加元是本交易日最坚挺的货币,强劲的油价也推动加元走高。WTI收于72.0上方,如果多头保持控制,则有望挑战74.23的高点。

Check through our brand new Alpha account.
Raw Spreads From 0 Pips.

Understand the common costs involved in CFD trading and
how they can affect your returns.
Try our Alpha account

News & Analysis

Discover the latest market trends at FXTRADING.com.
NZ Growth Excels in Q2, Aussie Employment Confuses

NZ Growth Excels in Q2, Aussie Employment Confuses

Australian employment throws a curve ball

To expect a directional move from a related market, it’s more likely to be a clean move if the data set leans for or against the economy the market represents. Yet today’s employment report is about as clear as mud upon initial inspection.

Unemployment fell to 4.5% from 4.6% and below 4.9% expected. Yet -146.3k jobs were lost (68k of which were full-time) and the participation rate also fell. So what gives? As ABS explain in their report, employment and hours worked were down due to the extended lockdowns in NSW. Yet the combination of falling employment and unemployment across several states weighed down on the participation rate.  

And the confusion can be seen on the Australian dollar, which remained relatively unchanged for the session with a 17-pip rise before moving back to the open. AUD/NZD remains below 1.3000 (just) having breached the milestone level yesterday. Yet price action looks extended to the downside. Moreover, its inability to move lower on bad Australian and good New Zealand data raises a red flag for bears (so we’re now on the lookout for bullish mean reversion).

New Zealand’s Growth flies in Q2

The New Zealand dollar spiked higher today following a stronger than expected GDP print in Q2. Rising 17.4% YoY, it now sits at a record high and above the 16.4% expected, and the quarterly print rose 2.8% (up from 1.6%) to show this is not merely a basing effect that can crop up in annualised figures.

For most of this month we have watched the 1-month OIS (overnight index swap) rise as move closer to pricing in a hike at their next meeting. Ahead of today’s print it rose to a 34% probability of a hike, the 2-month suggests an 88% chance of a 25-bps hike and the 3-month has fully priced in a hike. And we may find those odds have increased given today’s strong growth figures.

However, we warrant caution here as it needs to be remembered that Q2 data does not include the lockdowns which will surely weigh on Q3’s data. But with that said, New Zealand were quick to lock down and partially reopen most of the country, and since tamed the latest outbreak. And as the lockdown was the only reason given for RBNZ not raising rates at their last meeting, we will closely monitor any comments from RBNZ’s governor over the coming day/s to see if a hike may actually be back on the cards.

Canadian Inflation soars ahead of elections

And staying with commodity-link economies, Canada released a strong inflation report overnight, although not everyone will be pleased. Consumer prices in Canada hit an 18-year high, just days ahead of the Canadian election which provides the opposition parties with more ammunition to use against their sitting Prime Minister, Justin Trudeau. Many are angered that inflation has been broadly higher with rising house prices adding salt to the wound.

Politics aside, broad CPI rose to its highest level since March 2003. However, with energy and food removed it rose just 0.3% MoM, down from 0.6%. The Canadian dollar was the strongest currency of the session, and also helped higher by strong oil prices. WTI closed above 72.0 and looks set to challenge the 74.23 high should bulls retain control.